Online Services

Search the Catalog
New Books and
  AV + Best Seller Lists

Online Research
NEW Downloadable
  Audiobooks & E-Books

Your Library Account
Web Search
LOOK Homework Help

Library Services

Youth Services
Teen Services
Library Events
Homebound Services
miniarrowTest Proctoring
Book Reviews by Sam   Bauman

News

WORKSHOP
Saturday, February 4th
2:00 p.m.

Tips on how to download e-books and audiobooks to your mobile device.

________________

NOW AVAILABLE

Expanded downloadable e-book and audiobook service from OverDrive.

Click the Downloadables Tab at the top of the screen to find out more.

________________

FOREIGN LANGUAGE INSTRUCTION ONLINE!

The library now offers an online language instruction program called Powerspeak. Five languages are available, including ESL. Click on the button above and enter your library barcode number to get started.

The link can also be found by clicking on the the Online Research tab and selecting Language.

_______________

 

About the Library

Location & Hours
Loan Periods
Lost or Damaged
   Materials

Library Events
Library Policies
Holiday Closures
Board of Trustees
   Agendas & Minutes

Friends of the Library
Our Team
Arts & Culture
   Coalition

Contact Us

________________

The Library @ the BRIC
Supporting local businesses of all sizes

108 East Proctor Street 775-283-7123
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

The BRIC offers grant seekers a variety of print material and online directories from
The Foundation Center.

________________

Become a fan on Facebook!  Carson City Library on Twitter!

Click below
for an APP to access
e-reference books on your mobile phone or IPad.

Need Adobe Reader? Click the image below.

get adobe reader

Online Databases

These e-resources include everything from full-text periodical articles to civil service practice tests and from homework help for elementary school children to peer-reviewed journals for college students. Each database requires a login. The instructions are included below.

 

Databases available to patrons of any Nevada Library:

Ebsco Publishing EBSCOHost contains thousands of full-text periodical articles from popular and scholarly publications. In addition to the main database, MasterFile Premier, specialized databases for business, science, health, and education are included. Several of the databases are designed specifically to support school assignments, including databases on history and geography from ABC-Clio. Access restricted to residents of Nevada. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library barcode number.

Gale Database - General Reference Gold, Discovering Collection, Junior Reference Collection, Student Resource in Context, Science in Context and many more. Access restricted to residents of Nevada. When prompted, enter the all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

Grolier Online Grolier Online Passport includes Grolier Multimedia (a general encyclopedia), a series of full-text books on states of the United States titled America the Beautiful, and the Spanish language La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre. It also provides links to information on current events. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number. Use this link to enter Grolier within the Carson City Library.

Nevada Career Information System NCIS presents career, workforce, and educational information in a user-friendly format. The website is designed to help job seekers make informed career choices and obtain the qualifications necessary to be successful in the workplace. Use option 2 to login: select a town then enter the zip code and area code.

Databases available to Carson City Library Patrons Only:

 

ABC-Clio E-Books ABC-Clio's e-book library provides online access to a selection of reference books on a wide variety of subjects: history, weapons and warfare, social issues, economics, politics, mythology and more. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

Business Decision BusinessDecision is a reporting and mapping service that combines extensive consumer household, market segmentation, and demographic data with GIS mapping technology. It empower local businesses with many of the same data, reports, and maps that are used by America's largest and most successful companies.

Current Biography Illustrated Current Biography Illustrated provides online access to 40-years-worth of the Current Biography Annual and profiles more than 20,000 celebrities, politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists, scientists, and many other notable figures and news makers.

Gale Virtual Reference Library The Gale Virtual Reference Library provides online access to some of the most respected reference books published by Thomson-Gale. Medicine, technology, zoology, history, world religions, social issues, criminal justice, and biography are just some of the topics covered by the e-books in this growing collection. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

JobNow by Brainfuse is a unique suite of resources for job seekers, including live interview coaching, online resume assistance, test preparation, writing skills, live online tutors, job retraining resources, and expert advice on job-related issues. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

LearningExpress Library LearningExpress Library provides civil service, licensing, and academic practice tests to help adults and students pass the essential tests for career advancement and college entrance. A Carson City Library card is required to sign in.

Novelist A database for finding fiction, Novelist contains entries for over 110,000 works of fiction for all age groups and reading levels. It includes reviews, author interviews, as well as lists of author read-alikes and award winners. The database is searchable by title, author, series, plot elements, and genre. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

Oxford Reference Online Oxford University Press has compiled over 70,000 full-text entries from more than 100 of its finest reference books. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

Powerspeak Languages Powerspeak Languages provides users with the ability to learn, apply, and enjoy a new language quickly and more proficiently using a variety of proven methods that engage all types of learners. This program takes language instruction to new levels of engagement and effectiveness by empowering users with a friendly, functional, and contextual learning experience. Select from Spanish, French, German, Mandarin or English as a Second Language. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

ReferenceUSA ReferenceUSA is a directory of residential and business phone numbers, addresses, and demographic information for the entire United States. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

Small Business Reference Center is an EBSCO database specifically designed for business owners and those who would like to start a new business. It includes full-text books and articles on planning, running, and growing a business. Topics such as writing business plans, employer/empolyee relationships, taxation, marketing, and legal issues are covered. When prompted, enter all digits of a Carson City Library card barcode number.

Beta Test for Research

Modified: 06/15/2011